The SEDA Scholarship and Research Committee (SRC)

Terms of Reference

The committee aims to lead and support research and scholarship for SEDA through:

- 1. Providing opportunities for research and scholarship activities in educational development
- 2. Developing SEDA and its members in their research and scholarship capabilities
- 3. Raising the standard of Research and scholarship in educational development

To accomplish these aims the committee seeks to address a number of themes

- 1. Promoting and providing opportunities for peer reviewed research publication in educational development, e.g. through close working with the IETI editorial team.
- 2. Promoting and providing opportunities for scholarly publication of research-informed work on educational development, e.g. through SEDA publications including papers, specials and in Educational Developments.
- 3. Provision of opportunities to undertake small-scale funded research on educational development, e.g. through the small grants scheme.
- 4. Support for the development of research and scholarship in our community, e.g. through writing retreats & mentorship
- 5. Collaborating with other SEDA sub-committees to promote research and scholarship in educational development, e.g. through conferences, publications and day events.
- 6. The development of collaborative bids for funded research and scholarship into educational development.
- 7. Liaison with relevant research bodies outside SEDA (SRHE, HEDG, HeLF, etc)
- 8. Undertaking any other work deemed to support research and scholarship in educational development as directed by SEDA Executive.

The committee membership operates on a 3 year rotating basis with the possibility of two successive terms if requested and approved by the SRC. The Chair operates on a 3 year term with a Co/Vice-chair appointed in the final year of the 3 year term to allow for transition.

Name	Affiliation	Portfolio Responsibility	Term of office
Arinola Adefila	Buckinghamshire New University	Pending	2022 -
Kay Sanderson	University of Central Lancashire	Pending	2022 -
Clare Kell	University of South Wales	Pending	2022 -
Charles Buckley	University of Liverpool	Co-Chair Publications	2011 -
Frances Deepwell	Leicester University	Support for scholarship	2007 -
Alice Lau	Coventry University	E-learning	2014 -
Alison Purvis	Sheffield Hallam University	Learning, Teaching and Student Success	2024
Angélica Rísquez	University of Limerick	Learning Technologies and Learning Analytics Lead	2024
Mark Weyers	Independent		2024
Jennie Winter	University of Plymouth	Co-Chair	2015 -
Gina Wisker	University of Brighton	Vice-Chair (outgoing) Chair IETI Ed Bd	Member: 2007 –

	IETI Lead Editor	Chair: Oct 2013 -
	Bids and research proposals	Oct 2016

March 2025